1950 has provided management and supervisory services to Defence Construction Limited which is entrusted with carrying out the construction of defence projects required by the Department of National Defence. The Corporation is responsible to Parliament through the Minister of Public Works.

Crown Assets Disposal Corporation.—This Corporation was set up in June 1944 under the name of War Assets Corporation; the name was changed by statute in December 1949. It succeeded War Assets Corporation Limited, which was set up in December 1943. The Corporation's function is to dispose of surplus Crown assets. It is responsible to Parliament through the Minister of Defence Production.

Defence Construction (1951) Limited.—This Company was set up in 1951 to carry out all defence construction, with the exception of married quarters and runways, replacing the former Crown company, Defence Construction Limited, which was set up in November 1950. The Company reports to Parliament through the Minister of Defence Production.

Director of Soldier Settlement and Director of the Veterans' Land Act.—The Director of Soldier Settlement (under the Act of 1919) is also the Director of the Veterans' Land Act, 1942, and in either capacity is legally a corporate soul. For administrative purposes, however, the programs carried on under both Acts constitute integral parts of the services provided by the Department of Veterans Affairs.

Dominion Coal Board.—The Board was created in October 1947 for the purpose of implementing the recommendations of the Royal Commission on Coal. Its duties include research and investigation regarding problems and techniques of production, marketing and distribution and other related matters. The Board reports to Parliament through the Minister of Mines and Technical Surveys.

Eastern Rockies Forest Conservation Board.—The Board was appointed in 1947 under the Eastern Rocky Mountain Forest Conservation Act, which authorized an agreement between the Government of Canada and the Province of Alberta relating to the protection and conservation of the forests of that area of the eastern slope of the Rocky Mountains which forms part of the watershed of the Saskatchewan River. The function of the Board is to plan, supervise and undertake construction, operation and maintenance of projects and facilities that are necessary for the proper protection of the forests of the area with a view to obtaining the greatest possible flow of water in the Saskatchewan River and its tributaries. The Board is composed of a Chairman and one member appointed by the Federal Government and one member appointed by the Government of the Province of Alberta.

Eldorado Mining and Refining Limited.—The Company was set up in 1944 under the name of Eldorado Mining and Refining (1944) Limited. The name was changed in June 1952. The Company's business is that of prospecting for, mining and refining uranium ores in Canada. It reports to Parliament through the Minister of Defence Production.

Export Credits Insurance Corporation.—Commencing operations in 1945, under the Export Credits Insurance Act, 1944, and comprised of a Board of Directors (including the Deputy Minister of Trade and Commerce, the Deputy Minister of Finance and the Governor of the Bank of Canada) and an Advisory Council, this Crown Company insures Canadian exporters against non-payment by foreign buyers arising out of credit and political risks involved in foreign trade. The Corporation reports to Parliament through the Minister of Trade and Commerce.

Federal District Commission.—This Commission had its genesis in the Ottawa Improvement Commission, established by Parliament in 1899 to improve and beautify the National Capital by the development and construction of parks and driveways and to co-operate with the City of Ottawa in local improvement and conservation. Its membership is honorary in character and appointed by the Governor in Council, and it reports to the Prime Minister. In 1927, the organization's name was changed to the Federal District Commission, its scope of operations widened to include adjacent areas, and its membership increased to ten. Under the F.D.C. Act, the mayors of Ottawa and Hull are included in its membership.

The Commission maintains the grounds of all federal buildings in the National Capital area and landscapes the grounds of new government buildings. In the Ottawa-Hull area (exclusive of Gatineau Park), where it administers 1,878 acres, it has developed 18 parks and 22 miles of scenic driveways.

In 1946 the Commission became the federal agency responsible for carrying out the National Capital Plan. The membership was further increased to permit the appointment of a commissioner resident in each of the provinces and a separate honorary committee was established by the Commission to advise on the development of Gatineau Park. The National Capital Fund, to which Parliament has made annual grants of \$2,500,000 since its inception in 1948, was made available to the Commission to execute the work of the National Capital Plan, and a National Capital Planning Committee was appointed to act as a permanent honorary advisory body to the Commission on the implementation of the Plan